Scottish Highland Games

The Indoor Scottish Highland Games returns to the Arnold Sports Festival in 2018 inside the Arnold Fitness EXPO at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

35 athletes will compete Friday, March 2 and Saturday, March 3 in four divisions.

Friday A.M. Men’s Masters

Friday P.M. Men’s Open Amateur

Saturday A.M. Rogue’s Men’s Pro

Saturday P.M Women’s Open Amateur

The professional division champion will be awarded a specially-made bronze trophy of legendary Scottish Strongman Donald Dinnie. Dinnie won the Scottish Highland Games 21 straight years from 1856-1876 and is recognized as the 19th century's greatest athlete. First, second and third place finishers in each division will also receive specially-made trophies.

2018 Events

Sheaf Toss
A pitchfork is used to hurl a weighted burlap bag over a horizontal bar above the competitor's head. The sack will weigh 25 pounds for the men and 15 pounds for the women.  The bar will start at 18 feet and move up in increments of three feet until each division has a winner.

Weight Over Bar
The weight has a chain and ring attached to it for the athlete to grasp and throw over the bar.  The men’s weight is 56 pounds (Masters 42#)and the women’s weight is 28 pounds.  Weights are thrown over a bar starting at 12 feet. The height will be increased in until each division has a winner.

Heavy Weight for Distance
The cannon-ball style weight is equipped with a chain and handle. Athletes hurl it in a hammer-throw style for distance. Weights are 56 pounds for the Pro Men, 42 pounds for the Master’s Men, and 28 pounds for the Amateur Women.

Open Stone
A heavy shot put throw.  Stones will weigh 20 pounds for the men and 14 pounds for the women.  (The Olympics use 16 pounds for men and eight pounds for women.)

Caber Toss
Athletes attempt to throw a 16-foot caber end over end for distance and accuracy.  The cabers weigh 120 pounds for the men and 80 pounds for the women.

Pole Push
An extra event that gives athletes the rare opportunity to compete head to head. The opposite of tug-o-war, two athletes in a circle grab handles on a pole and try to push his opponent out of the ring.

Start Lists

Men's Open
John Anthony
Skylar Arneson
Garrett Blatnik
John Forsythe
Aaron George
Thor Gylfason
Eddie Johnson
Chris Racknor
Brad Sauer
Gary Randolph  

Women's Open
Emily Adams
Felicia Baker
Jessica Bridenthal
Gwen Campbell
Amanda Ford
Chelsea Forsythe
Elissa Hapner
Janine Kuestner
Heather McKenzie
Victoria Shireman 

ROGUE Men's Pro
Jeremy Gillingham
Chuck Kasson
Dan Tennison
Spencer Tyler
Andy Vincent

Men's Masters
Damon Barth
Mark Jaros
George Mclaren
Tim Mullally
Kerry Overfelt 
Craig  Reid
Tim Thoma
Scott Blackburn
Mark Wechter
Michael Zolkiewicz