Arnold Classic

Bonac Wins 30th Arnold Classic

William “The Conqueror” Bonac, a Ghana native now living in the Netherlands, won the 30th Anniversary Arnold Classic in his first professional appearance on the famed Arnold Classic stage.

Bonac, who first made a name for himself in bodybuilding when he finished third in the heavyweight division at the 2011 Arnold Amateur, dominated all three rounds of judging in cruising to his first major professional victory. It was the fourth career win for Bonac, who was third at the 2017 Mr. Olympia.

Five-time Arnold Classic champion Dexter Jackson of Jacksonville, Fla., the winningest bodybuilder in history with 28 career wins, finished second and defending champion Cedric McMillan of Heath Springs, South Carolina was third.

Bonac received congratulations from Arnold Schwarzenegger, a check for $130,000, a Tony Nowak Official Champions Jacket and the champion’s trophy from Catherine Colle of Midway Labs USA and Eric Hillman of Optimum Nutrition.

Jackson, 47 received $75,000 and a medal from ROGUE Fitness and JanTana.

The popular McMillan was third and received $50,000 from Animal and The Columbus Dispatch. 

Roelly Winklaar of the Netherlands fourth and received $30,000 from Blackstone Labs and

Steve Kuclo of Dallas, Texas was fifth in his Arnold Classic debut and received $15,000 from Rule One Proteins and Ricart Automotive. 

Lionel Beyeke of France, competing in Columbus for the fourth time, was sixth and received $10,000 from Rivalus and MHP. His previous best finish was fourth in 2017.

In special awards, Winklaar received an additional $10,000 for Most Muscular and Fred Smalls picked up $10,000 for Best Poser.

Also competing and finishing seventh through 13th , respectively, were Justin Rodriquez (New York, New York), Jonathan De La Rosa (White Plains, New York), Lukas Osladil (Czech Republic), Hidetada Yamagishi (Japan), Smalls (Townsend, Delaware), Dennis Wolf (Germany) and Maxx Charles (Huntington, New York). Paul Poloczek of Germany also competed but did not finish.

2018 Competitors

Lionel Beyeke
William Bonac
Maxx Charles
Jonathan DeLaRosa
Dexter Jackson
Steve Kuclo
Cedric McMillan


Lukas Osladil
Paul Poloczek
Justin Rodriguez
Fred Smalls
Roelly Winklaar
Dennis Wolf
Hidetada Yamagishi

Arnold Classic Champions

1989: Rich Gaspari
1990: Mike Ashley
1991: Shawn Ray
1992: Vince Taylor
1993: Flex Wheeler
1994: Kevin Levrone
1995: Michael Francois
1996: Kevin Levrone
1997: Flex Wheeler
1998: Flex Wheeler
1999: Nasser El Sonbaty
2000: Flex Wheeler
2001: Ronnie Coleman
2002: Jay Cutler
2003: Jay Cutler

2004: Jay Cutler
2005: Dexter Jackson
2006: Dexter Jackson
2007: Victor Martinez
2008: Dexter Jackson
2009: Kai Greene
2010: Kai Greene
2011: Branch Warren
2012: Branch Warren
2013: Dexter Jackson
2014: Dennis Wolf
2015: Dexter Jackson
2016: Kai Greene
2017: Cedric McMillan
2018: William Bonac