Skip Menu


Arnold Strongman Classic

The Arnold Strongman Classic will be held March 4-5, 2022 at the Arnold Sports Festival.

Arnold Strongman Classic powered by ROGUE - March 4-5, 2022 | Columbus, OH USA

All events will be held in the Strongman Arena in Hall D inside the Arnold Expo at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Martins Licis of Santa Monica, Calif., fresh off a win at the inaugural Rogue Invitational, and Tom Stoltman of Scotland, the reigning World’s Strongest Man, headline a field of 10 Monsters of Strength who will battle at the Arnold Strongman Classic Powered By Rogue Fitness at the 2022 Arnold Sports Festival in Columbus, Ohio.

Licis took home top honors at the Rogue Invitational in October by besting a world-class field including Stoltman; Oleksii Novikov of Russia, the former Arnold Amateur World Champion and 2020 World’s Strongest Man; and Mateusz Kieliszkowski of Poland, who finished second in Columbus in March 2020.

Licis, Stoltman, Novikov, Kieliszkowski and six others will fight for a record $182,000 in prize money, including a champion's check of $80,000.

2022 Arnold Strongman Classic Field

Maxime Boudreault (Canada) – 2021 Magnús Ver Magnússon Strongman Classic Champion, Arnold Strongman Classic debut
J.F. Caron (Canada) – 3rd Place, 2021 Shaw Classic; 3rd, 2020 World’s Strongest Man; 2018 & 2019 Canada’s Strongest Man
Rob Kearney (USA) – 6th Place, 2021 Rogue Invitational; 2019 Arnold Strongman Australia Champion
Mateusz Kieliszkowski (Poland) – 4th Place, 2021 Rogue Invitational; 2nd Place, 2020 Arnold Strongman Classic; 2019 Arnold Strongman Europe Champion; 2019 Poland’s Strongest Man
Martins Licis (USA) – 2021 Rogue Invitational Champion; 2019 World’s Strongest Man; 3rd Place, 2020 Arnold Strongman Classic; 2nd Place, 2019 Arnold Strongman Classic
Evgeny Markov (Russia) – 2020 Arnold Amateur Strongman World Champion; Arnold Strongman Classic debut
Trey Mitchell (USA) – 2021 Shaw Classic Champion; 4th Place, 2021 World’s Strongest Man; Arnold Strongman Classic debut
Oleksii Novikov (Ukraine) – 2020 World’s Strongest Man; 3rd Place, 2021 Rogue Invitational
Luke Stoltman (Scotland) – 2021 Europe’s Strongest Man; Arnold Strongman Classic debut
Tom Stoltman (Scotland) – 2021 World’s Strongest Man, 2nd Place, 2021 Rogue Invitational, Arnold Strongman Classic debut

The Arnold Strongman Classic has been held at The Arnold since 2002 and features feats of strength with the heaviest weights in Strongman.

General admission seating on a first-come, first-served basis is included in Daily Expo tickets that are on sale now. Strongman VIP packages and guaranteed seating options for the Arnold Strongman Classic will go on sale soon.

The Arnold Strongman Classic was last held in March 2020 when Hafþór Júlíus Björnsson of Iceland won for the third straight year, joining the great Zydrunas Savickas as the only competitors to win the event three years in a row. Savickas won six straight from 2003-2010 and has a record eight Arnold Strongman Classic titles. Bjornsson has retired from Strongman and will not compete in 2022.

2022 Prize Money

1st Place: $80,000
2nd Place: $25,000
3rd Place: $20,000
4th Place: $15,000
5th Place: $13,000
6th Place: $8,000
7th Place: $7,000
8th Place: $6,000
9th Place: $5,000
10th Place: $3,000
Total: $182,000

2022 Events

Friday, March 4

Event 1: The Heavy Squat-Using a Barbell
Rising bar system. Each athlete will have three attempts to establish their max weight. New event for Arnold Strongman Classic.

Event 2: Monster Dumbbell Press for Reps with 275 pounds
Dumbbell taken from floor to overhead for repetitions in 90 seconds.

Saturday, March 5

Event 3: Austrian Oak for Max
Rising bar system. Each athlete will have three attempts to establish their max weight. Starting log weight TBD.

Event 4: Timber Carry
Carry the 880-pound Timber frame up a 35-foot ramp. Straps not permitted. Time Cap: 30 seconds.

Event 5: Stone to Shoulder
With Odd Haugen's Stone. Lift Odd Haugen's famous "tombstone" from the ground to a stationary position on top of the shoulder for as many reps as possible. Tacky not permitted; tacky towels provided. Time Cap: 2 1/2 minutes.

Arnold Strongman Classic Champions

2002: Mark Henry
2003: Zydrunas Savickas
2004: Zydrunas Savickas
2005: Zydrunas Savickas
2006: Zydrunas Savickas
2007: Zydrunas Savickas
2008: Zydrunas Savickas
2009: Derek Poundstone
2010: Derek Poundstone
2011: Brian Shaw
2012: Michael Jenkins
2013: Vytautas Lalas
2014: Zydrunas Savickas
2015: Brian Shaw
2016: Zydrunas Savickas
2017: Brian Shaw
2018: Hafthor Bjornsson
2019: Hafthor Bjornsson
2020: Hafthor Bjornsson

Event Sponsors


Arnold Strongman Classic
Friday, Mar 04
Columbus Convention Center
Strongman Arena

Arnold Strongman Classic
Saturday, Mar 05
Columbus Convention Center
Strongman Arena

Buy Tickets